Bruce Springsteen Announces Soul Covers Album ‘Only the Strong Survive’

Bruce Springsteen’s new soul covers album, ‘Only the Strong Survive,’ will feature covers of ’60s and ’70s soul hits.

Jackie Kolgraf
September 30, 2022

Bruce Springsteen announced he’s releasing a new album of soul covers titled Only the Strong Survive — his first covers album since his 2006 LP We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions — out November 11. Watch the official video for his cover of Frank Wilson’s 1965 song “Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)” below.

In his announcement video, Springsteen explained that throughout his career he’s always been at the service of his own songs. “Confined by my arrangements, by my melodies, by my compositions, by my constructions. My voice always came second, third and fourth to the expression of those elements,” he said. “But this time, I decided to do something I had never done before: make some music that is centered around singing, around challenging my voice.”

Produced by Rob Aniello, Only the Strong Survive will feature guest vocals by Sam Moore, contributions from The E Street Horns, full string arrangements by Rob Mathes, and backing vocals by Soozie Tyrell, Lisa Lowell, Michelle Moore, Curtis King Jr., Dennis Collins, and Fonzi Thornton.

In a statement, Springsteen said, “I wanted to make an album where I just sang. And what better music to work with than the great American songbook of the Sixties and Seventies? … My goal is for the modern audience to experience its beauty and joy, just as I have since I first heard it. I hope you love listening to it as much as I loved making it.”

You can see Springsteen on tour with the E Street Band throughout North America and Europe starting in February. Earlier this year, he said on E Street Radio (Ch. 20) that he’s “just aching to play … to travel and see our fans in all those distant cities.”

Only the Strong Survive Tracklist:

1. Only the Strong Survive
2. Soul Days [ft. Sam Moore]
3. Nightshift
4. Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)
5. The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore
6. Turn Back the Hands of Time
7. When She Was My Girl
8. Hey, Western Union Man
9. I Wish It Would Rain
10. Don’t Play That Song
11. Any Other Way
12. I Forgot to Be Your Lover [ft. Sam Moore]
13. 7 Rooms of Gloom
14. What Becomes of the Brokenhearted
15. Someday We’ll Be Together