Listen as the NASCAR Hall of Fame Inducts Jimmie Johnson, Chad Knaus, and Donnie Allison

Johnson, a seven-time Cup Series champion, enters the Hall as arguably the greatest NASCAR driver of all time.

Mark Eisenhauer
January 18, 2024

Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images

The NASCAR Hall of Fame will induct a trio of greats into its 2024 class on Friday, headlined by seven-time Cup series champion Jimmie Johnson.

Drivers, celebrities, and legends of the sport are set to take the stage during the ceremony for the 14th NASCAR Hall of Fame class, which also includes Johnson’s longtime crew chief Chad Knaus and Pioneer Ballot winner Donnie Allison. Additionally, Janet Guthrie will be honored as the 2024 Landmark Award recipient for outstanding contributions to NASCAR.

SiriusXM NASCAR Radio logo - 24/7 NASCAR Talk & Races; Your trusted source for all things NASCAR - Listen Now button

How to listen

Hear live coverage of the event, exclusive interviews, and more on SiriusXM NASCAR Radio (Ch. 90) January 19 from 8–9:30pm ET.

You can also find live trackside coverage of every national series race in 2024, and unparalleled daily NASCAR talk and analysis. Plus driver and pit crew audio, as well as interviews with team owners and other pro stock car racing insiders. Learn more about NASCAR on SiriusXM.

NASCAR Hall of Fame’s Class of 2024

Jimmie Johnson

Johnson, 48, enters the Hall as arguably the best NASCAR driver of all time. His seven career Cup Series championships are tied with fellow Hall of Famers Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt for most in series history, and include a record five consecutive titles from 2006 to 2010.

For his career, Johnson — named one of NASCAR’s 75 Greatest Drivers in 2023 — owns 83 total race victories (sixth-most all-time) at 20 different tracks.

Chad Knaus

Knaus, considered one of the greatest crew chiefs in the sport’s history, will be inducted alongside Johnson to cap the pair’s historic partnership. With the No. 48 Hendrick Motorsports team, Knaus helped guide Johnson to all seven of his NASCAR Cup Series titles and ranks second all-time among crew chiefs, trailing only fellow Hall of Famer Dale Inman’s eight.

Donnie Allison

Allison, voted as the winner of the 2024 Pioneer Ballot, was a member of NASCAR’s famed “Alabama Gang,” along with brother Bobby Allison (Class of 2011), nephew Davey Allison (Class of 2019) and longtime family friend Red Farmer (Class of 2021). Allison is best known for his role in NASCAR’s most famous moment: his 1979 Daytona 500 fight with Cale Yarborough, which occurred during the first nationally televised NASCAR race and made headlines across the country.